OUR TRUSTEES AND ADVISORY BOARD

The Appeal Trust's three trustees are responsible for the allocation of Appeal funds to support earthquake recovery initiatives. The Secretary for Internal Affairs and the Secretary to the Treasury are positions held by the chief executives of those government departments, and are not political appointments. A small secretariat within the Department of Internal Affairs, currently led by Paul Swallow administers the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust.

Current Trustees (from left)

Dr Rod Carr (appointed 6 April 2011) Vice-Chancellor, University of Canterbury

Colin MacDonald (appointed 16 April 2012) Secretary for Internal Affairs

Gabriel Makhlouf (appointed 1 June 2011) Secretary to the Treasury







Founding Trustees (from left)

Brendan Boyle (11 March - 1 October 2011) Then Secretary for Internal Affairs

John Whitehead (11 *March* - 1 *June* 2011) Then Secretary to the Treasury





Past Trustees

Pietro Mersi (17 October 2011 - 16 April 2012) Then Secretary for Internal Affairs



Advisory Board members

An Advisory Board of Canterbury community representatives provide the Trustees with additional local perspective and advice on specific proposals.



Chair: Jane Huria (CNZM) Jane Huria is Ngāi Tahu and affiliates to Ngāi Tuahuriri. Jane has held directorships

over the years in a number of public and private sector organisations and, in this year's Queens Birthday Honours List, was made a Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her services to corporate governance.



Ros Burdon (CNZM) Ros Burdon is a benefactor and patron of the arts and recognised as

one of Christchurch's most influential figures in the arts world. In 2002, Ros was made a Companion to the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to arts and the community.



Justin Murray
Justin Murray is
Managing Director
of Murray & Co.,
an independent
investment bank

based in Christchurch. Justin is also a Crown-appointed Director of Christchurch International Airport, is a Fellow of the Board of Governors of Christ's College and is a member of the Institute of Finance Professionals.



Tane Norton (MNZM) Rangitane Will "Tane" Norton was born in Waikari, Canterbury and is a

former All Black captain. He is a Board Member of the Charitable Trust for Critical Rugby Injuries. In 2006, Norton was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the annual New Zealand Honours List.



Pamela Richardson (MNZM) Pamela Richardson, of Akaroa, received the Insignia of a Member of the New Zealand

Order of Merit in 2010 for services to conservation and the community. She was involved with the Canterbury Community Trust for many years, has been a trustee of the North Canterbury Rural Support Trust, and is an Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board member.



David Close
(Currently overseas on
a six-month leave of
absence until December
2012)
David Close, an

eastern-suburbs resident, was a member of the Christchurch City Council from 1977 to 2001. He is also a trustee of the Hamlin Trust NZ, which supports an ongoing project to assist women in Ethiopia who suffer from horrific birth injuries.



Anthony Rimell (Proxy Advisory Board member until December 2012) Anthony Rimell is currently the Pastor

at the Breezes Road Baptist Church in Christchurch. He has been closely involved in relief and recovery work in Avondale, Wainoni and Aranui. Anthony is a member of the Aranui Community Trust Incorporated Society, and is a member of the Aranui Recreation Centre Steering Committee (a long-term recovery project in the eastern suburbs).